School Resources » State and STAAR Testing

State and STAAR Testing

STAAR exams are required for students in grades 3 - 8. STAAR End of Course (EOC) exams are required for students in specific high school subject areas. Passing EOC exams is a graduation requirement.  

Tests typically administered by grade:

Grades 3 & 4 –  Reading and Math STAAR
Grade 5 –  Reading, Math and Science STAAR
Grade 6 & 7 –  Reading & Math
Grade 8 – Reading, Math (at Meridian the exam is typically the Algebra EOC), Science and Social Studies
Grade 9 – English 1 EOC, Biology EOC  and Algebra 1 EOC, (if the student is enrolled in an Algebra 1 course)
Grade 10 – English 2
Grade 11 -  US History

      A note about math STAAR exams:  Most students take the STAAR math assessment for their enrolled course.  The majority of our students take Algebra 1 in 8th grade so their math exam will be  the Algebra 1 EOC.  By federal rule, all students in grades 3 - 8 must be assessed annually in math and reading.  If you have an 8th grade student in geometry or precalculus, the student will take the 8th grade math exam because geometry & precalculus is not a state-tested course and the corresponding exams are not available.  The default is to take the exam based on their grade level.  Eighth grade geometry or precalculus students take the STAAR Math 8 exam.



Reading Grades 3-5 Thursday, April 20
Science Grade 5 Wednesday, April 26
Math Grades 3-5 Thursday, May 4
Reading Grades 6-8 Thursday, April 20
Science Grade 8 Tuesday, April 25
Social Studies Grade 8 Thursday, April 27
Math Grades 6-7 (Some 8) Tuesday, May 2
Algebra 1 EOC Grade 8 Tuesday, May 2
Alternate Algebra 1 Date Grade 8 Monday, May 8
English 1 & US History (EOC December Retakes)   Tuesday, December 6
English 2, Biology, & Algebra (EOC December Retakes)   Tuesday, December 8
English 1 & 2 EOC   Tuesday, April 18
Biology Grade 9 Tuesday, April 25
US History Grade 11 Tuesday, April 25
Algebra Grade 8 (Some 9) Tuesday, May 2 or Monday, May 8
What is TELPAS? TELPAS is a required State assessment program for students in Texas public schools who are learning the English language. The letters in TELPAS stand for the Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System. The Texas Education Agency developed TELPAS to meet state and federal requirements.
TEA has developed the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR®) Alternate 2 assessment to meet the federal requirements mandated under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), a federal education law previously known as No Child Left Behind. The Texas Education Agency (TEA) designed the STAAR Alternate 2 to assess students in grades 3–8 and high school who have significant cognitive disabilities and are receiving special education services.
Meridian will administer the STAAR ALT 2 during the testing window March 20 - 31.
To find information on college testing, go to secondary counseling.
Your counselor or test coordinator can help you if you have any questions about testing.  
Paige Bender - Test Coordinator